top of page
  • Writer's pictureT C

The True Best Rom-Coms of All Time by Natalie Muglia

Genre: Comedy, Romance Review

 

Those who know me know I love a good romantic comedy. I love watching The Proposal on the couch late at night with my mom, or listening in while my dad plays Ten Things I Hate About You on the family room TV for the hundredth time. Two summers ago, I worked at a job where I had the opportunity to watch TV while I completed my tasks. Unsure of what I should watch, I turned to my favorite movie genre, but was then stumped. There had to be more rom-coms than just Legally Blonde and every Matthew McConaughey movie, right? Thankfully, the writers at Vogue had my back—with their list of 73 romantic comedies, I knew I would not be bored. In fact, I was anything but. After working my way through more than half the list, I realized that I had plenty of thoughts to share on what exactly the best romantic comedies were, versus the movies on the list that felt featured because of movie prestige. If you’re looking for a rom-com to make you laugh, cry, or just ponder about life’s meanings for days, then you’ve come to the right place. I’ve watched over 70 rom-coms over the past two years, and I am here to direct you to which of these “best” rom-coms are actually the best, and which ones are maybe best left for the archives.


If you want to see Vogue’s full list, you can find that here.



Emma (2020)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


This hilarious depiction of a beloved classic with gorgeous ending scenes needs to be on everyone’s romantic comedy watch list. While I disagree with the “nosebleed” scene, even that moment had me laughing when I least expected it.



The Half of It (2020)

rom: 3/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 7/10


This movie was more “coming-of-age” than “romantic comedy” which can definitely be seen by how little actual romance existed within the film, but it is still a great film. The Cyrano de Bergerac inspired premise along with the fact that it is a queer story set in rural Iowa had me feeling a lot of hope and will definitely convince many to add it to their lists.



Happiest Season (2020)

rom: 5/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 8/10


Add this one to your Christmas watchlist! What makes this one truly stand out to me is how Abby and Harper are already in love—so many rom-coms are about the main characters finally getting to that stage in their relationship. But for Abby and Harper, it’s less about finding their way to one another and more about how they’re going to stay together during a very tense holiday season. Also, the humor is just perfect, and I wish there was more of it.



Palm Springs (2020)

rom: 4/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 9/10


I went in with no prior knowledge of this one, and was not expecting a time loop plot! This one executes that premise hilariously—much better than Groundhog Day for sure. Andy Samberg is hilarious, the chemistry between him and Cristin Milioti was fantastic, and this one was just the right blend of rom and com. Emphatic period.



But I’m a Cheerleader (2000)

rom: 3/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 6/10


I rewatched this one recently with friends, and I have to say that this one is a lot of fun to watch with other people. It is a little uncomfortable at times, but overall the fun and forbidden romance along with the premise of the movie itself was enjoyable.



Always Be My Maybe (2019)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


The chemistry between the two leads is fantastic, the jokes and awkwardness had me giggling the entire time, and the only thing left to say is, if the fact that a Keanu Reeves cameo exists in this movie won’t convince you to watch it, then what are you doing?



Set It Up (2018)

rom: 5/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 9/10


This rom-com does wonderful work in exploring what an unglamorous life in NYC actually includes (years of being an assistant, it seems) while also contrasting that with (you guessed it) hope and love. Some of the jokes weren’t to my taste, but the fulfilling romance at the end was really all I needed.



The Big Sick (2017)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 9/10


Since this one is actually based on a true story, it feels strange giving it a rating! Yet, give it a rating I shall. This movie shows you what love is all about. Not only that, but it explores the intricacies and complications and joys of culture, family, being an adult, and so much more. This movie is a must watch, and don’t forget the box of tissues.



Crazy Rich Asians (2018)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


I loved every part of this glittering, charming film, from the flashback beginning to its fulfilling and badass ending. Everyone who worked on this movie—especially the costume designers—deserves a fat raise. This movie is more than just a rom-com, which is why it’s an ultimate rom-com. Mic drop.



La La Land (2016)

rom: 5/5

com: 1/5

grand total: 6/10


I absolutely adore this movie, and everything that it says about romance and love right until the very end. Unfortunately, I just don’t think there’s much comedy in it, but the musical numbers are fun and catchy and basically every time I watch this movie, I end up listening to the soundtrack for the next week.



Lost in Translation (2003)

rom: 2/5

com: 0/5

grand total: 2/10


I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this one. I found it hard to watch, for several reasons, but mostly because it wasn’t funny/entertaining, and because I wasn’t sure how to feel about the companionship between the two main characters. I know I’ll be wondering about the meaning behind the final whisper, and what happens to those two when they get home, though.



First Daughter (2004)

rom: 4/5

com: 1/5

grand total: 5/10


This is one of those instances where the rating doesn’t entirely do it justice. This movie isn’t really all that funny. However, the romance was there for me, and that reveal—my jaw dropped. This is the kind of movie that felt like Miss Congeniality but better executed, and I think it’s because I believed in the romance more. On an unrelated note, this movie made me want to learn how to ballroom dance.



Something Borrowed (2011)

rom: 3/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 7/10


I had difficulty with this one, because when the entire plot revolves around a best friend betraying her best friend and a finacé betraying his financée, I have a hard time enjoying the film and not thinking What are you doing! But the movie is still funny and entertaining, and there is one twist there at the end that did shock me for a minute, which is why even though the rom rating is rather low (due to the betrayals), the movie itself gets a higher rating.



Forgetting Sarah Marshall (2008)

rom: 3/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 7/10


I watched this in the kitchen when one of my old roommates was walking around, and I had to hold myself back from busting out laughing at all the jokes I knew my old roommate would not find funny. Basically, yes, the situation I was in contributed to my enjoyment of the film, but the movie itself is also just hilarious that it’s a must-watch as far as comedic movies go.



Miss Congeniality (2000)

rom: 2/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 5/10


The premise of the movie itself is hilarious (an FBI agent becomes a contestant in a beauty pageant) and Sandra Bullock is amazing (which, of course she is, it’s Sandra!). However, the romance felt underdeveloped and gave me major “you only see me now that I’m pretty” vibes. But a lot of 2000s movies are just about enjoying it at the moment, which is entirely possible to do.



Juno (2007)

rom: 2/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 4/10


This movie is definitely more “coming of age” than “romantic comedy” but that didn’t mean there weren’t high points. What I was most surprised by was the relationship between the two adults who wanted to adopt Juno’s kid, and the way that storyline played out. A definite must-watch film, just not sure it belongs on a romantic comedy list.



Legally Blonde (2001)

rom: 3/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 8/10


This movie always gives me a laugh, and it’s insanely iconic scenes (“what’s your boyfriend’s name?” “bend and snap!”) always provide a much needed distraction from the bores of life. Yet, every time I watch it, I’m struck by how much potential the filmmakers had to develop the romance further, and I’m always disappointed that they don’t. Thus, it’s more of a com than rom for me.



Maid in Manhattan (2002)

rom: 5/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 9/10


This is the perfect romantic comedy: the casting is top tier, the pacing is perfect, there is an adorable plotline with the main character’s son (the paperclips!!), and it’s a Cinderella story to boot! The question is really, what’s not to love?



Two Weeks Notice (2002)

rom: 4/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 8/10


Hugh Grant and Sandra Bullock are the most iconic, most perfect pairing for a rom-com ever achieved. But while this movie is good, there’s just something about it that’s just not *great*—and I think it’s probably the way Sandra’s character was depicted. Can’t fully articulate it, so I guess you’ll just have to watch and get back to me with your own thoughts!



How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (2003)

rom: 2/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 6/10


Look, I know this is a classic, but I just can’t understand how, when a woman isn’t acting like herself for the entire relationship, the man would still go after her and claim that he loves her? Because they don’t really know each other! The premise is entertaining and the fight scene near the end is iconic, but it’s just not as fulfilling as other actual romances on the list.



Broadcast News (1987)

rom: 0/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 2/10


This movie was funny at some points, but if you’re looking for any kind of fulfilling romantic ending (or even just a fulfilling ending in general!), you will not find it here—despite the two-hour-plus long movie.



Beauty and the Beast (1991)

rom: 5/5

com: 1/5

grand total: 6/10


The fairytale romance gets full points, of course, but putting this children’s animation next to some of the other hilarious, more adult movies on the list—yeah, it didn’t stand a chance in the comedy department. However, the “kill the beast” scene is funny enough for it to earn some points. Still definitely a classic.



Moonrise Kingdom (2012)

rom: 3/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 8/10


This movie is brilliant. I just enjoyed it so much. It was hilarious, one of the funniest movies on this list, and while the rom was a little silly (though that’s not to discount the fact that kids can’t fall in love), it was overall enjoyable. I literally did not want to look away from the screen for fear of missing something funny or thoughtful. A definite must-watch from this list.



The Philadelphia Story (1940)

rom: 2/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 5/10


Listen, I know this movie does great work and provides great commentary for divorced women or remarried couples (I can’t remember which) in the 40s. Which is all good and fine—it does seem like an iconic film that needs to be remembered in film history. However, that doesn’t necessarily make it a rom-com, especially if the hijinks aren’t as hijink-y as other 40s films and the ending came out of left field.



Clueless (1995)

rom: 2/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 6/10


Cher is hilarious, and the Emma-inspired plotline will always get points in my book. However, I couldn’t get over the age difference between our Emma and Mr. Knightley characters—if I remember correctly, the difference was between a college student and a middle schooler. In Jane Austen’s era, this wouldn’t phase me (well, it would, but it would feel more distant). In modern day California, I feel like I have cause for concern if there aren’t any cute girls Josh’s age for him to crush on.



The Graduate (1967)

rom: 1/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 3/10


I thought it was out of left field that the main character was actually in love with the daughter the whole time. And, naturally, the sleeping with her mom thing was a little unhinged. The only reason it earned any points was because the ending was so uncomfortable I couldn’t help but laugh, and the repetitive music made everything 4x more awkward (and thus more hilarious) than it really was.



Sleepless in Seattle (1993)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


Another fantastic classic, you really can’t go wrong with casting like Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan. Sure, they don’t really meet until the end, and most of the humor comes from Sam’s son, but it’s one of those rare rom-coms that perfectly balances romance and humor with something more serious, something that really makes you think this could all be possible.



Moonstruck (1987)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


This is one of the most perfect movies on this list. A little premarital infidelity, a healthy dose of Italian family drama, and set in New York, this movie basically proves that all the best rom-coms take place in New York City. With the conceit of the moon as something that ties all the stories together, and the hilarious bow-on-top ending, Moonstruck is absolutely wonderful and I can’t wait to rewatch it.



The Holiday (2006)

rom: 4/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 7/10


I love this movie’s premise; I think many great romance stories begin with the “let’s switch lives” premise. And the cast is so star-studded that it’s genuinely such an enjoyable movie-viewing experience. Not one of the best rom-coms ever, but definitely an enjoyable and entertaining and bighearted film.



Bridget Jones’s Diary (2001)

rom: 3/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 5/10


This movie has a lot going for it—the star-studded cast, the Pride and Prejudice retelling, the London setting. It also has a few drawbacks—the 2000s diet culture that just didn’t age well (she’s pulling on spanx but it doesn’t do anything because she’s already skinny!) and the main character’s childishness (she’s really nothing like Elizabeth Bennett at all). An entertaining movie, but definitely a 2000s rom-com, and just go in knowing it’s going to be a little cringey.



Roman Holiday (1953)

rom: 3/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 7/10


I had so many feelings once I finished this movie. The main characters were meant to be together, and were so cruelly pulled apart by the realities of the world. This film was really great in making that commentary, and also great at making me want to cry and ask the world why it isn’t fair. While the ending is not fulfilling in the slightest, the entire movie itself made up for it by being a fun whirlwind day-long romance in Italy. Guess it’s true that the good things don’t last forever. Or for very long in the first place.



Obvious Child (2014)

rom: 4/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 8/10


Just another tally for me to prove that the best rom-coms are the ones that take place in New York City. That aside, I was really impressed with how this movie handled a tricky, sensitive subject with warmth and humor. I also loved that ending shot, and the way the romance wasn’t developing all the way from “stranger” to “I love you” but from “stranger” to “I could see myself with this person for a little while longer.”



Under the Tuscan Sun (2003)

rom: 2/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 4/10


Don’t get me wrong, this is a fantastic movie. Despite its rather depressing start, it ends on such a hopeful and romantic note. But most of the movie isn’t funny, or romantic, at all. Rather, it’s hopeful and warm all the way through, but just not what you’d expect of a rom-com at all.



The Princess Bride (1987)

rom: 2/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 5/10


I have never understood the obsession with the Princess Bride, I’ll just say that first. With a main character called Buttercup and instalove and cliché twists that felt pulled from a storybook, I just got very lukewarm feelings from it. Some of its only redeeming qualities is the revenge plotline, and the narrative lens of the grandfather telling the story to his grandson.



Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (2008)

rom: 4/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 8/10


It does seem that all the greatest love stories take place in New York City. While it felt like the characters were acting older than they actually should have been, I did enjoy the plotline of finding the friend wandering around drunk in the city, and catching up with an elusive band. I also believe this movie combatted the instalove stereotype well.



Pretty Woman (1990)

rom: 4/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 7/10


When most of the humor seems to come at the expense of a woman who is entering a sphere that is miles away from her own, I can’t fully appreciate it. However, the “My Fair Lady” combined with “Cinderella” vibes that the story gave me were enough to make this enjoyable and entertaining.



Bringing Up Baby (1938)

rom: 3/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 8/10


This movie was definitely more com than rom, but it was enjoyable and cute and hilarious. With an ending as interesting and twisty as it was, I would say it should rank high on everyone’s must watch rom-com list.



10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


Maybe it’s the fact that it was inspired by Shakespeare, maybe it’s the Australian accent and the guitar, maybe it’s the nostalgia of the movie itself. Whatever it is, I always find myself tearing up and saying “aww” at the end.



Beginners (2011)

rom: 2/5

com: 1/5

grand total: 3/10


Don’t get me wrong—it’s a fantastic movie—but there’s something missing for me from this one. I loved the parallel storytelling, and the movie’s simplicity and generosity, but when I finished it, I felt a little lost and empty (which is usually the exact opposite of how I want to feel when watching a rom-com).



There’s Something About Mary (1998)

rom: 2/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 6/10


My parents always joked about this movie, and when I saw it was on the list, I jumped at the chance to convince them to watch it with me. This movie is absolutely hilarious (Magda is the running joke in my family I know understand), but it’s definitely a comedic movie and not a truly romantic one.



Bridesmaids (2011)

rom: 2/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 5/10


I’d always wanted to see this movie because I remember growing up seeing the CDs for it at Target all the time—and it’s definitely a funny movie that examines female friendship and wedding culture well. I wish the romance between Rhodes and Annie was deeper, and the resolution between Annie, Helen, and Lillian was stronger, but overall not a bad rom-com!



The Wedding Singer (1998)

rom: 3/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 6/10


First of all, if I’m ever engaged to a man for that long, it’s a sign I don’t want to be with him!! Because who would ever wait around that long!! Anyways, the jokes were good, but not the best. It’s a good, entertaining movie, but it’s not the best nor the worst. If you’re a fan of Adam Sandler, though, you’ll be sure to enjoy it.



Singin’ in the Rain (1952)

rom: 4/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 9/10


This movie is absolutely fire, I will 100% watch again. The musical numbers were fantastic—my jaw dropped when the good morning song came on. That song was a huge part of my childhood, and I had no idea it was in this movie (or that the song even came from a movie). The only thing not entirely to my taste was the instalove.



How Stella Got Her Groove Back (1998)

rom: 3/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 6/10


It was enjoyable, but most of the time I couldn’t stop but asking the screen, “Stella, why are you doing this?” It felt like a The Graduate in reverse, and also trying to validate the large age gap? I got mixed feelings from this movie—like yes, validate all kinds of love, and age is just a number, but in some ways I just couldn’t stop myself from wondering why Stella thought this would be a good idea.



Something Wild (1986)

rom: 0/5

com: 1/5

grand total: 1/10


I’m sorry, I just don’t find a man cheating on his wife and a woman who knows that and abducts him anyways as either funny or romantic. And once this movie took the turns it did, I finished wondering how I was still watching the same movie. For most of it, I was just praying that it would end soon. A little harsh, but I’m very confused on how this one made the list at all.



Something’s Gotta Give (2003)

rom: 1/5

com: 0/5

grand total: 1/10


Don’t get me wrong, I am obsessed with Keanu Reeves in romantic comedies. But this movie is just so bad and not enjoyable at all. It was super uncomfortable watching Harry’s behavior, and thinking that we should want a happy ending for him. Despite the family-centric ending, I’ve just decided that Jack Nicholson rom-coms will never be for me.



When Harry Met Sally... (1989)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


Anyone who says differently is either lying, being forced at gunpoint to lie, or needs to reevaluate their priorities. No, I will not accept any questions at this time. Watch the movie.



Say Anything... (1989)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


Another instance of if you say any differently, you’re only lying to yourself. A great film, a great lesson, an iconic scene. I did wish that she would have gone downstairs when he played their song on the boombox, but...we can’t have everything, I suppose.



Groundhog Day (1993)

rom: 1/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 3/10


It’s, like, an okay movie, but it really just dragged for me. I get that getting stuck in a time loop would make anyone depressed, but it’s really hard to watch Phil behave so poorly, especially to the people around him, and then still get the girl by the end. I like that there’s a bit of commentary about how you can change your life around in one day if you try, I just don’t think this is the best way to portray that.



Crossing Delancey (1988)

rom: 2/5

com: 1/5

grand total: 3/10


I wanted to like this movie more than I actually did—the bookstore/New York creme de la creme backdrop contrasted with what Isabelle discovers as true love is something that I thought would really capture my attention. Alas, I was just bored the whole time because the movie itself was pretty slow, and I just couldn’t find a way to be engaged with it.



Crazy, Stupid, Love (2011)

rom: 5/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 9/10


Lovely development of all kinds of relationships, of all kinds of love for all kinds of people, but some of the humor just made me a tad bit uncomfortable (read: the babysitter being in love with the dad—was definitely a Clueless moment).



Shakespeare in Love (1998)

rom: 4/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 7/10


This movie was so silly—and maybe it’s because I took a Shakespeare class and know this movie isn’t historically accurate in the slightest, but still. Funny costumes, an entertaining concept. When the romance in the movie revolves around the writing of the beloved Romeo and Juliet it makes for a rewarding watch, especially at the end when the play makes its first appearance on the stage.



Muriel’s Wedding (1994)

rom: 0/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 2/10


This was more “coming of age” than “romantic comedy.” The gags might have been funnier if I didn’t have the moral compass I do, which means I hated Muriel. And the movie.


Tootsie (1982)

rom: 2/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 4/10


Definitely hilarious in concept, and partly in execution, part of me was just turned off by the film. This is mostly because I don’t love watching rom-coms (or movies in general) where someone believes they have to change who they are in order to get what they want. While you could argue that Michael changed for the better, these types of storylines just never sit right with me.



Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961)

rom: 4/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 7/10


Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of my favorite movies of all time. I’m really obsessed with how it makes me think about the differences between belonging with someone and belonging to someone. This is one of the few movies where I love the movie more than its literary source material, and that ending is just spectacular. A must-watch movie, even if not categorically one of the best rom-coms.



To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (2018)

rom: 5/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 8/10


This is a gorgeous adaptation, with the perfect cast, full of lovely colors and tensions, and paced perfectly. This is such a good movie. The only thing that docked it some points was that it wasn’t actually meant to really be a “com” the way some of these other movies are, and even then, the source of much of the comedy is the letters, which I found to be more stressful than hilarious.



American Pie (1999)

rom: 1/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 4/10


Most of the other movies on this list are pretty wholesome, so I was in for a surprise when I started this film. I also felt like the kids were trying too hard? That no one actually cares that much about sex, and that the adults who made this film were trying to say something about what kids should care about.



Rushmore (1998)

rom: 0/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 2/10


I was not impressed with this film. Instead, I was rather weirded out, and unsure if the ending would redeem the rest of the film (spoiler alert: it didn’t).



Jerry Maguire (1996)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


The second I finished this movie, I wanted to start watching it all over again like it was the first time. I can’t stop thinking about this movie, especially not when I now know it’s the birth of the iconic lines of “show me the money!” and “you had me at hello.” Everyone needs to see this movie. Immediately.



Two Days in Paris (2007)

rom: 5/5

com: 2/5

grand total: 7/10


It’s not a rom for being romance-y, but rather a rom for taking the bold move to actually explore all the intimacies of a relationship—all the insecurities, all the highs, all the lows—and pack that into a film that takes place over two days. Definitely a bold film, and a bit heavy, and a bit long, but overall has some great messages.



Love Actually (2003)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


This is one of my favorite movies, so I’m definitely a little biased. I love each storyline, and the way it looks at love in different lights: the quiet love, the out loud love, the unreciprocated, the looking-for-love, the love-in-translation, and all the others. This film is the epitome of a feel-good movie.



As Good as it Gets (1997)

rom: 0/5

com: 1/5

grand total: 1/10


This is absolutely the worst movie on the list, and I would have rated it a 0/10 had there not been elements that were slightly funny. This movie is certainly not a rom-com, because the romance doesn’t even come until forty-five minutes until the end of a two hour movie. With a main character who is definitely racist, homophobic and sexist, the movie doesn’t do a whole lot to redeem him despite the grand generous gestures. While a good film in other aspects, it definitely does not belong on this list.



WALL-E (2008)

rom: 3/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 7/10


More than anything at the end of this film, I was still depressed at the state of our earth. The movie itself can feel rather slow, especially if you’re trying to watch it as a rom-com (which, it’s definitely not meant to be, so I’m a bit unsure as to why it’s even on the Vogue list). Alas, it’s still a great movie, full of enough heart to make you want to watch it till the end.



Harold and Maude (1971)

rom: 2/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 5/10


This was definitely, out of all the ones on the list, the most interesting movie. I’m still not sure if I mean that in a good way or a bad one. It was dark, depressed, and full of death. Yet, it still found ways to be hopeful. I guess I’m still making up my mind on this one.



Chasing Amy (1997)

rom: 0/5

com: 0/5

grand total: 0/10


Once again, not a fulfilling romance in the slightest, and when all the jokes felt like they were written by middle school boys, I’m surprised I even thought there would be a redeemable ending. And that’s the tea.



Grease (1978)

rom: 2/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 5/10


I can’t deny it: Grease is a great film. But as a rom-com, I’m just not feeling it. The first time I watched it (and every time after), I couldn’t get over how Sandy and Danny felt the need to change to be with one another. You shouldn’t have to change that much just to be with someone you love.



Four Weddings and a Funeral (1994)

rom: 5/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 9/10


Dare I say it, but Hugh Grant as the romantic lead in any rom-com automatically gives the story the boost it needs. And not that this film even needs a boost in the story department. Full of just the right amount of heart, with lovable characters and the perfect fairytale ending, this film will always delight.



Coming to America (1988)

rom: 3/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 6/10


It’s probably just me, but while this movie was entertaining and enjoyable, it just wasn’t my favorite. It’s not anything it did, but compared to some of my other favorite movies on the list, it’s probably not surprising that this one just couldn’t stand next to them. But that’s not to say it wasn’t funny or entertaining! Just that it wasn’t for me.



And now, for the films not on Vogue’s list that definitely deserve to be!


The Wedding Planner (2001)

rom: 5/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 8/10


Okay, I get it. No one wants to fall in love with the guy who basically cheats on his fiancée. But c’mon. The moments built up between the two leads, the small things the two of them do for each other? It makes me swoon each and every time.



The Notebook (2004)

rom: 5/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 8/10


Honestly, just cue the waterworks on this one. A classic in all rights, Nicholas Sparks knew what he was doing. While not really meant to be a funny film, it does have its moments, but what I really love is the way that it tracks a relationship from the teenage years through hardship and up until they’re both adults and can reconnect.



27 Dresses (2008)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


I’ve seen this movie too many times, I’m definitely biased when I say it’s a 10/10. It always makes me laugh and cringe and smile and swoon, and it’s well paced and plotted to always be an entertaining watch.



You’ve Got Mail (1998)

rom: 5/5

com: 3/5

grand total: 8/10


The romance was absolutely perfect and the premise was amazing! I was surprised I hadn’t ever seen this movie before. A flawless ending, the ending lines, and all the small moments that accumulated into the satisfaction that was the ending makes watching the movie again and again something I can’t wait to do.



While You Were Sleeping (1995)

rom: 4/5

com: 4/5

grand total: 8/10


Not entirely sure why this one didn’t make the list! Sandra Bullock always provides a great performance, and this story was just so heartwarming and hilarious, I genuinely enjoyed it and didn’t want it to end. The tension between the two main characters, and the internal conflict of the main character, just all combined to make a wonderful rom-com.



Friends With Benefits (2011)

rom: 5/5

com: 5/5

grand total: 10/10


I’m genuinely so confused how this one isn't on the list! It’s hilarious, it’s sexy, it’s modern, it has Justin Timberlake…but seriously, it’s a fantastic New York City romance with a very swoon worthy ending, and it hits all the right notes. This one had me laughing when I least expected it, and tearing up, too. Just a fantastic movie.



And that’s all! For now, at least! What did you think of my ratings? Do you agree, disagree? Or are you feeling inspired to watch some new movies and old favorites again? Let me know in the comments!


35 views0 comments
bottom of page